Mona Collins

Let Me Eat Cake…Lemon Cake!

In Health Thoughts, Weight Loss on September 8, 2010 at 1:22 AM

Okay, this is getting a bit out of hand. I’ve realized that cake is consuming my life. You see, it’s my favorite dessert…and it makes me feel good. To be more specific LEMON CAKE loves me and I love it back. This leads me to my question for today:

Is it bad that someone has their cake and eats it too, literally?

lemon cake

Hmm. Hmm. Good. (photo courtesy of kraftrecipes.com)

My first thought is that yes, hell yes, you can have your cake and it it too. Cake is my favorite [in my best Will Ferrell in Elf, The Movie voice]! But, herein lies the problem…eating the whole cake is a problem. A slice of cake can be comforting and a nice complement to a fantastic dinner. However, overindulgence is the enemy.Think gluttony.

In the spirit of weight loss, I would like to mention moderation. This co-signature on moderation is more for me than for you, my readers. I have to constantly remind myself that just because it’s on your plate doesn’t mean you have to eat it all. Now, if I could train myself, as Bethenny Frankel suggests, to taste everything and eat nothing.

Her book, Naturally Thin, talks about the “taste everything, eat nothing” as her mantra. It’s basically the idea that a few bites of a lot of decadent things is the best way to eat rich, delicious food without feeling deprived.

I have this book and am reading it sparingly. However, I kind of understand her logic. It’s not based on depriving your body but satisfying it with small tastes of all the great food before you. As you can see I’m totally Team Bethenny [take that Jill Zarin]. I have all three of her books and the workout DVD. I can see how her yoga regimen keeps the body in shape.

There you have it…How often do you have your cake and eat it too? What is your must-have food? Share your thoughts in the comment section below.

  1. I must have my potatoes! Fried, baked, mashed.. it doesn’t matter how they’re cooked. I love them! I’m not much of a sweets eater, but I love salty carbs.

    • Sarah, thanks for the comment. I agree! Potatoes is a separate food group for me. I’m not sure where this came from. It may be heredity? LOL. However, I do think that I have a nice balance between my cravings for sweets and salty carbs…which means DOUBLE TROUBLE!

What do you think?

