Mona Collins

5 Online Tools for Foodies on a Mission

In Weight Loss on September 26, 2010 at 11:46 PM

Social networks are taking over the world! I confess, social networking pays my bills; but social networks are also a great tool to connect with others and learn new information. As the world continues to migrate online, I started to think about what online tools are available for Foodies, like me, who are struggling to drop pounds while still satisfying the palette. This thought lead to this list:

Five Online Tools for Foodies on a Mission (eating to lose)

The tools below I have used (or plan to use) in my quest to lose weight and eat healthy.

Find healthy recipes at WeightWatchers.comWeightWatchers.com – I’m on the weight watchers program and occasionally venture to the website for tips and information. The most valuable thing [to me] is the email newsletter. It is sent weekly (sometimes more) and always offers great information and links to recipes online.

Dottie’s Weight Loss Zone – This nifty website is a great tool to access how many calories and Weight Watcher points are in the foods/meals/entrees at popular restaurants and food chains. For instance: Chik-Fil-A Nuggets (6 oz) have 400 calories, 17 fat grams, and 1 gram of Fiber which equals 9 Weight Watcher points! A word of caution: not all menu items are listed and not all restaurants are listed. However, it’s still a great tool and very eye-opening.

Couch 2 5K, the 9-week running programCouch to 5K – I heard about this iPhone app almost a year ago. I downloaded it earlier this year. It has taken me over 7 months to get the motivation to try it out…soon. I have heard mixed reviews; and frankly, I’ve talked myself out of using the app several times. It is my goal [I’m putting it in writing and online for the world to see] that I will give the C25K iPhone app a try this week. I will blog my thoughts later.

Whole Foods RecipesWhole Foods Recipes – When I lived in NYC, I shopped at Whole Foods at least once a week, sometimes more. I really loved that grocery store. Since being in Arkansas, I’ve taken to using the website for information more than shopping at the Little Rock store location. The website and iPhone app have great recipes that promote healthy eating and offer a variety of dietary options – dairy free, gluten free, vegetarian, etc.

Recipes by Bethenny – This site has great recipes that are low fat and tasty. Bethenny is a natural food chef to the [Hollywood] stars. Try the Low Fat Mock-A-Mole recipe. You won’t be disappointed.

Losing weight is all about decisions. Decisions are based on research and education. Online tools are making it easier to have healthy options at your finger tips (literally).

What are your favorite online resources for living a healthier lifestyle? Share your thoughts below.

  1. Totally loved the couch 25k program. I actually just completed my first 5k because of it in August AND can now jog/run up to 4 miles!! Thanks for the Bethany website…I’ll be checking it out!

  2. XJ, thanks for comment and the info on the c25K program. I’m so nervous about starting it. But, I know the best thing is to just do it!! I will let you know how it goes. I’m am SO NOT a runner!!

  3. You are welcome! And I was so not a runner either. TRUST me!! Just stick to the program and enjoy it as much as you can…it’s great when you realize how far along your progress week to week! A kick-ass play list helps too!! And, don’t worry if you take a little longer than the program actually runs for. Sometimes I’d repeat a week or a day if I wasn’t ready!

  4. […] a previous post, I mentioned the Couch 2 5K Running program as a resource for online… Since that time, […]

What do you think?

