Mona Collins

One Fourth of What You Eat Keeps You Alive

In Aha Moment, Weight Loss on October 10, 2010 at 8:10 PM

“1/4 of what you eat keeps you alive; ¾ of what you eat keeps the DOCTOR alive.”

Think about it. This is such a true statement. What are we really eating and how is it affecting our bodies? I attended a Maximized Living Makeover Workshop presented by Dr. Traci Bishop of the Natural State Health Center.

Maximized Living logo

I entered this workshop with doubt and skepticism regarding the Maximized Living program. I’m still working my way through the “Cruise Ship or Nursing Home” book, and my thoughts waiver often (just being honest). I am struggling with losing weight, and it’s hard when there are so many items of information tossed your way each day – low fat, no carbs, fat flush, maximized living, weight watchers, etc. So, YES, negative thoughts were swirling in my mind as the workshop started.

However, after learning some shocking statistics, I started to realize the horrible truth of the above quote. We are what we eat? Literally. A few facts that shocked me into reality:

**75% of the world’s prescription drugs are consumed in the United States

**You can go 1 month without food. You can go days without water. You can go minutes with air. You CANNOT go ONE SECOND without nerve supply!

**Canola Oil is not vegetable oil. It stands for “Canadian Oil, Low Acid.” Who knew?!

The five essentials of Maximized Living

The discussion focused on the 5 Essential areas of maximized Living:

  1. Maximized Mind – You have to get your mind right, and eliminate the noise (stinking thinking) that
  2. Maximized Nervous Supply – The nervous system is the essence of how well your body is functioning and healing. It’s the missing link in healthcare today.
  3. Maximized Nutrition – Nutrition is an integral part of health, wellbeing, and longevity.
  4. Maximized Oxygen and Lean Muscle – Motion is life. Maximized Living has developed a cutting edge exercise program that literally takes only minutes a day!
  5. Minimized Toxins – Your body must detoxify. It must be purified to function properly

I learned about the importance of healing your body from the inside by removing toxins, avoiding bad food (processed food, high fructose corn syrup, sugars), eating good foods (vegetables, grass-fed meat, raw nuts, etc), and more focused exercise.

The first step is to have an action plan. Write down a goal as if it was already achieved. My goal:

As of December 31, 2010, I have achieved my goal of being 20 pounds lighter.

I will achieve this goal by believing in myself, eating the right foods and moving more. What are you health goals for the next 10 weeks? Who and what do you want to be by the December 31?

  1. I just changed my eating to what you talked about and I love it! Have you made the change yet? How is it going for you?

  2. Hello
    I’m thinking about taking prohormones, do you think this is good idea
    for advanced bodybuilder like me? People are satisfied with the results after prohormones cycles, just google for – 100% pure muscles without side effects – worth a try?

What do you think?

