Mona Collins

So You Think You Can Run?

In Weight Loss on October 25, 2010 at 6:18 PM

In a previous post, I mentioned the Couch 2 5K Running program as a resource for online… Since that time, I’ve been actively using the program and enjoying the time I’ve spent running. In the month that I’ve been ‘running’ there have been struggles [getting up early] and challenges [the Koehler Hill is no joke!] and setbacks [rain and pains]. Each week of the program takes you to a different level. However,  I’ve chosen to remain at Week 2 for three weeks. After this week, I plan to move on. My Sister-in-Law told me that Week 3 is the first big hurdle to overcome [in the program]. Yea, I’m not ready yet.

clip art of running shoes

Happy #TweetFeet with the C25K Program!


I’m positive that my hesitation in moving on to Week 3 is more mental than physical. The mind is a powerful thing. I’ve talked myself INTO staying at Week 2 while simultaneously talking myself OUT of the Week 3 challenge. Bethenny Frankel talks about food noise, but I believe I’ve experienced “exercise noise.” Henry Ford said it best:

“Whether you think you can or whether you think you can’t, you’re right. “

That statement is so true it hurts sometimes. Over the past few years  I’ve become keenly aware of the words that people say [including myself]. People so easily “talk” situations and things into existence. I’m not speaking on a spiritual level per se, but rather a level about what you believe to be true. Another appropriate quote comes to mind:

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words. Watch your words, for they become actions. Watch your actions, for they become habits. Watch your habits, for they become character. Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.”

Our thoughts are part of the foundation of our existence. What you think you can do…or can’t do…is reality.

Want to change your life, your situation, your future? Change your thoughts!

As I close, I will continue with the running program and will  [as promised] provide periodic updates. What’s on your mind? How do you handle the “noise” in your life?

  1. You can take week 3. Get with it, sister!! Doesn’t have to be Usain Bolt-fast. You just need to do it. 🙂 Believe it. Do it.

    • Thanks, Storm. I will be ready to take on Week 3 in a few days. You are right, I don’t have to be fast…just moving. However, the route I took today will not be the way to go. I almost rolled back down the Koehler Hill. 🙂 So, it’s flatter land from here on out.

  2. WOO HOO! I’m so proud of you. I have to admit I go in and out of running. Lately, I’ve had mental blocks (or self defeating thoughts) about several aspects of my life lately. This was helpful.

  3. I think anyone running is a big deal, congratulations!

    I’m NOT a runner, more of a walker, and I’m not motivated to do that! I is so true, in order to change your life, you have to change your thoughts. Maybe one day, I don’t know which one, I’ll change my mind about running.

    How I handle my “brain noise” I call it… Write.

  4. You are So right changing your thoughts is the first step in doing anything. My goal this week is to get up, roll out of bed and make my way to the gym to a treadmill or to my den to the exercise bike before I let my thoughts talk me out of doing anything! I did it on Saturday and Sunday. Monday, not so much! Have a great week!

  5. You so can do the week 3! Jut go handle it if you haven’t already done so. Don’t forget to report back!

What do you think?

