Mona Collins

Update: Keep on Moving

In Victories, Weight Loss on November 21, 2010 at 10:53 PM

It’s been about 8 weeks since I started the Couch to 5K Running program. I am taking my time and progressing to new levels at my own pace. I am writing to report that I have not only advanced to level 3, but I’ve mastered that level and moved on the Week 4. This level is definitely a challenge. It requires you to run for 5 minutes straight twice during the daily program!

 

a pair of running shoes

One step at a time.

 

I found one of the tricks to success. I choose to think of running as a mind game. If you think you can do it, you are probably right. I had successfully talked myself out of moving to Week 3; but once I changed my thoughts I was able to move on. With Week 4, I am constantly telling myself I can go another minute. I am not a natural runner. Running for me is a chore. However, I continue to wake up every other morning and hit the pavement. It’s becoming automatic. I’m afraid that if I slack off for too long I will be gone from the program forever. The goal is to keep moving.

In the process, I have found great friends who encourage me on Facebook and Twitter. Their words mean a lot…more than they will ever know. It is comforting to know that all my hard work and dedication is not in vain. I’ve even inspired a few people to get moving as well!

My next challenge is to find a good iPhone app that tracks your run. I’ve tried MapMyRun and RunKeeper, but they are not working so well. Pass along any suggestions you may have.

What are you waiting for? Get up. Get out. Get moving.

  1. Good job on making it to week 4! That was definitely a tough week for me. And I agree…it’s a MIND GAME!! You can do it though!

  2. Great job, mones! I feel like we’re on a similar path – I was actually going to tackle a 5k tomorrow but my calf has gone bad on me so I don’t think it’s going to happen. I am also not a natural runner, and it doesn’t help that, being in Ohio, I spend most of my time running indoors instead of out. However, Law and Order: SVU marathons keep me going. One of my personal mantras that I tell myself – even on a bad day – is that whatever I did today was a whole heck of a lot better than whatever I was doing a year ago, and that helps. At any rate, just some extra encouragement headed your way!

What do you think?

