Mona Collins

Thursday Thought: Change, You Have Two Choices

In Thoughts on April 19, 2012 at 11:34 PM

20120419-232250.jpg
*photo from Google Image Gallery

Change. It happens. It can be difficult and cause you to move beyond your comfort zone. But, one thing is certain. There will be change. Nothing stays the same forever. This year has been full of changes for me…some little, most big:

1. I got a new job with a major company. Huge change. I’m no longer working in an agency, which means my mindset and approach to a [once comfortable] area of work is changing. I started two months ago. New thoughts, new surroundings, and new adventures are welcomed (and exciting) challenges.

2. I moved to a new location. Huge change. I’m back out on my own. This change is exciting, challenging and sometimes frustrating. Moving is a big task. Furnishing a new apartment is not easy. So many choices, and so many decisions. I’m taking it one room at a time.

3. New friends. Huge change. My normal circle of friends are now located 3 hours away. With a new job and new location comes new friends. It’s my opportunity to be social, network and have fun. Wahoo!

As things change, I’m also learning lessons. A few lessons have been tough; but going through these issues is making me a better person, a better sister, a better daughter, a better Aunt (my favorite) and a better professional. With each change, I can choose resistance or acceptance and positivity. Resistance is easy, but accepting the change in a positive manner is the wisest choice.

How many things are changing in your life? Which choice are you making, resistance or acceptance?

What do you think?

