Mona Collins

Motivation Monday: Service

In Thoughts on February 18, 2013 at 5:57 PM

A moment in black history: Shirley Chisholm was an American politician, educator and author. In 1972, she became the first major-party black candidate for President of the United States and the first woman to run for the Democratic presidential nomination (http://wikipedia.org/wiki/Shirley_Chisholm).

One of her famous quotes references service:

20130218-174741.jpg

On this day in history, I ask you “what are you doing to serve mankind?” Just think…the world would be a better, more humble place, if more people heeded the words of Shirley Chisholm. This quote struck me firmly as I thought about my own service. Yes, I can do more. YES, I will do more! What talents do I have that my community will benefit from me giving back?

So, I’m putting it in writing. This year I plan to help women and college students in my area with career planning – everything from interest assessment to resume writing and interview skills. I’m working to identify opportunities and organizations where I can help. I’ll keep you posted.

“What talents can you lend to your fellow man or woman to make the world better?”

What do you think?

