Mona Collins

Carbs Are Not My Friend

In Weight Loss on June 2, 2013 at 10:10 PM

Truffle Butter Popcorn from Bar Louie's.

Truffle Butter Popcorn from Bar Louie’s.

Hi. My name is Mona, and I’m a carb-aholic. I love carbohydrates. I crave them. Popcorn, bread, cakes, cookies, and sugars are my vice. I see them. I smell them and I want to eat them all day, everyday. Some of my other favorite carbohydrates include bagels, potatoes (including french fries), pizza and candy.

I recently realized my love for carbs is more like an addiction. There, I said it. And, as with any recovery program, I’ve accomplished step ONE – admitting that I cannot control my carb intake. I admit it. I also recognize the need for change. Bad carbs do not do the body good. In my mission to lose pounds, I must find a way to overcome my love for carbs.

This leads me to Step TWO – recognizing a higher power that can give strength. I believe that God provide me the strength and courage to overcome by craving. This step reminds me one of my favorite bible verses, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” – Philippians 4:13. He will give me strength to make the right decisions and the motivation to do what needs to be done to lose weight.

I pledge to do the following to live a better life:

  • Eat clean. This includes low carbs, more vegetables and less fried foods.
  • Drink clean. This includes reducing my sugary drink intake and increasing my water intake.
  • Move more. Exercise equals Zumba, walking, running (when I can), Tae-Bo (remember that?), Pilates and more.
  • Observe more. I must really take a look at what I eat each day. Living a healthy life begins within.

I have friends who are holding me accountable. It takes a village!

What are you doing to be a healthier you?

What do you think?

