Mona Collins

Another Five Minutes…of Me

In Five Minutes, Thoughts on October 13, 2013 at 9:41 PM

Five Minutes of Me

created by Ramona Collins using Pixlr.com photo editor.

So, lately I’ve been spending time alone. Occasionally, my nephew will visit for TV time; but other than that, it’s been just me. Since my dad passed away, there’s been a lot on my mind. I think about him quite often. I know that’s part of the grieving process. I’m sure that as time goes on, I will want to hang out with more people. It is still my goal to meet more folks and do things different this year.

I’m currently reading the book, “Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead” by Sheryl Sandberg. It’s about women leaders in business. As I read, I’m learning a lot about the female and male minds as well as how my thoughts have gotten me to where I am today. I am a classic example of the women Sandberg writes about in the first part of the book. The biggest “aha” moments so far have been:

  • Leadership roles are not the only way to have profound impact.
  • Fear is at the root of so many of the barriers that women face.
  • Women constantly underestimate ourselves.

I’m really enjoying this book. I look forward to finishing it soon (book club meeting is next Sunday) and learning how to “lean in” to my potential! In closing…

“What would you do if you weren’t afraid?” – Sheryl Sandberg

 

This post is part of a blog link-up at Arkansas Women Bloggers. 

  1. […] a recent blog post, I discussed my early learnings from the Lean In book by Sheryl Sandberg. In Chapter One, she […]

  2. […] SEE ALSO: Another Five Minutes…of Me […]

What do you think?

