Mona Collins

Motivation Monday: What Are You Afraid of?

In Thoughts on October 14, 2013 at 10:16 PM

In a recent blog post, I discussed my early learnings from the Lean In book by Sheryl Sandberg. In Chapter One, she describes a quote that’s on the walls at the Facebook Headquarters. The quote is “What would you do if you weren’t afraid?” It is powerful, thought-provoking and has really stuck in my mind. When we let fear creep into our dreams, we lose control of our destiny. Fear holds us back. What are we afraid of? Are you afraid of failing, or maybe we are afraid of succeeding. We accomplished a big goal, got over a hurdle…now what? Possibly, we’re of the unknown, not knowing what to expect with each step.

In searching Twitter, I found the quotes below from others who highlight people’s tendency to let fear design control their dreams. Take a look and let me know what you think.

We have to be careful of what we focus our thoughts on. Keep positive and positive things will manifest. I challenge you to confront your fears and move beyond [them]. Feel free to start with my question:

“What are you afraid of?”

Similar Posts:

  1. Thank you for posting this! And recommending my post ~Don’t ya just feel like a fraud sometimes?~ I’m super bad at embedding posts (I actually haven’t quite figured it out yet!). It’s nice that people are talking about this and confronting the fears that are holding them back. It’s a completely new way to live.

    OH and, to answer your question, what am I afraid of- pretty much everything! But worse of all, failure in my relationships and failure in my career- or not ever having a career that I love.

    What about you?

    • Thanks for the comment, Young Lady Hall. I, too, am glad that more people are talking about fear and how it impacts their lives. As for me, I’m afraid of failure…especially when it comes to my personal life. Also, I used to be afraid of what I thought people thought of me…but I’m over that!

      Oh, and embedding posts is not as hard as you think.

What do you think?

