Mona Collins

Motivation Monday: Fitness, or the Lack Thereof

In Health Thoughts, Thoughts on October 28, 2013 at 12:30 PM

Motivation Monday, Fitness or the Lack Thereof

Okay, truth be told, I haven’t worked out in over a month. I have fallen off the wagon. I need to get back on. I’ve been busy lately – working and volunteering on a project with my sorority. This leaves little time for exercise. There have been random days where I park in a remote (read “far away”) parking space. However, this is not by choice but by fact that I arrived at the wrong time. Those are the days I get the most [air quote] exercise [end air quote].

With this in mind, I am committing to a concentrated effort to increase my fitness activity. This time last year, I was doing the Couch to 5K program with a coworker on a regular basis. I won’t go into details on how that endeavor ended. Let’s just say it ended badly with me in tears…in the mall parking lot…at 6 am. When I say tears, I’m referring to the huge tears and the “ugly cry” face. Yes, that happened.

Anyway, I digress. This fall, I commit to the following weekly activities:

  • Attending at least one Zumba class a week at the fitness center
  • Returning to the Barre fitness class
  • Quick yoga workouts in the morning before I go to work (10-15 minutes)
  • Incorporating kettle bell exercises in at least once a week

What will you add to your fitness routine this fall?

Related articles

  1. Great post! Working out is always a challenge, especially when there’s so much to do every day. Sometimes you just don’t have the energy….but making goals definitely helps with motivation! Your goals inspired me to make a few of mine.

    This fall I think I’d like to run at least 3 days a week for 20 minutes.
    Take my dogs for a walk 4 days a week.
    Do some sort of core workout 2 days a week.
    If I only do this stuff, I’ll still be doing better than I am now! haha. Good luck!

  2. Thanks for the comment, Young Lady Hall. Being busy definitely makes it hard to be active, but as long as we decide to make time to “move,” we will win in the end. I wish I was a runner! I wish you the best on your goals. Let’s stay in touch and hold each other accountable.

    ~MONA

  3. I fell off the workout wagon myself. I want to give you a hug. Ugly cry. 😦 I signed up for the Little Rock half marathon and am committed to getting back to that level of working out. whew.

    • M, the good thing is that we can always start over. That’s what I’m trying to do. The Half Marathon! I wish you the best. One of these days I will work my way up to another 5K. Keep me posted on your progress, chic!

What do you think?

