Mona Collins

Happy Veteran’s Day

In Thoughts on November 11, 2013 at 7:18 PM

Addicted to Fries - Happy Veteran's Day

photo collage created by Ramona Collins. United States flag image used with permission from Creative Commons user uhuru1701.

Today I salute all veterans and members of the military for their service to our country. Because they served, we (the people of the United States) continue to have freedom and rights. I would especially like to thank my late father, Lloyd Sr. and my oldest brother, Lloyd Jr. for  serving our nation. My dad was in the Vietnam War, and it changed his life in many ways. We never talked many details about his time in the Army, but I know it meant a lot to him.

My brother was active in the Army as well. I remember the feelings I had when our country went to war after the attacks of September 11. My brother was deployed to the war area and served his time. Our family was always concerned and proud of his willingness to serve. I hope he knows that my dad was super proud. I shed tears as I type for the memories I have of my father’s huge smile when he talked about my brother’s time in the military. I believe that was one of his proudest moments – having his son follow in his military footsteps.

As I close, I simply want to say thank you, veterans. Thank you for giving of yourselves. Thank you for the time spent away from your families. Thank you for the duty and the will to fight. I, and the nation, appreciate you!

Happy Veteran’s Day!

  1. You might enjoy this poem about families and absence, “While He’s Away: A Poem About Being Gone.” http://wp.me/p3BzWN-lB

What do you think?

