Mona Collins

Talk Thursday, Week 3

In Talk Thursday, Thoughts on November 14, 2013 at 10:20 AM

Talk Thursday with Todd Jones

Images used with Creative Commons Licenses from users HealthAliciousNess, Ivana Di Carlo and Samantha Celera.

The Talk Thursday series continues! I am enjoying the series and the interviews each week have been great. This week features my friend, Todd J. I met Todd about three years ago at a tech group meeting in downtown Little Rock. We spent time talking about web design, blogging and sports that evening. Since then, we’ve kept in touch via social media and conferences. I admire his passion for writing and designing. I’m excited to have him as part of the series. Let’s see what he has to say!

1. What is your favorite food dish, and why? 

I love chili! Especially this time of year. Yes, I love meat 🙂 My sister-in-law’s brother raises cattle and we are able to get some of the beef every year. It makes really good chili. The meat is lean and doesn’t have a bunch of preservatives. We usually combine the meat with diced tomatoes, chili seasoning (my favorite is Nick Fowler’s One-Step Chili Seasoning Mix). It’s nothing fancy, just good seasoning, some diced tomatoes, maybe a little diced chilies (ro-tel) to give it an extra kick. Great on a cold night with some cornbread! 

2. If you had to eat one cuisine for the rest of your life, which cuisine would you choose?

It’s pretty hard to beat steak, baked potato and salad! 

3. What is the best health and fitness advice you can share with the Addicted to Fries readers? 

I get a lot of my information from Coach Calorie blog. My best advice, what has began working for me, is create a calorie deficit and create a oxygen deficit (when exercising). The calorie deficit is self explanatory. You have to consume less calories. The rule of thumb is 10 calories per pound, so if you are 200 pounds, you need 2000 calories. Pretty simple, right? You want to lose weight, start consuming less than 2000 calories. For the oxygen deficit, I use HIIT which stands for high intense interval training. There is lots of info available for HIIT on the web, including Coach Calorie. Bootcamp classes are basically HIIT, but you don’t need that to get started. Most trainers use or subscribe to HIIT. With HIIT, you don’t have to spend 45 minutes to an hour working out.

4. Currently, what is your favorite snack food?

I like walnuts and almonds. Currently, I like eating apples or pears too. When I cheat, it’s usually something like pumpkin bread (from Starbucks or Panera). I try to eat something, very small amount, that is a little sweet almost every day so I don’t get to the point of devouring a bunch of sweet stuff. I do try to eat some “no sugar added” or sugar free stuff too. It helps stave off some kind of craving to consume more than I need. I work at Starbucks a lot, and they put their calories on their displays, and, I must say, it has helped me make different decisions.

5. What type of beverage best describes your personality, and why?

I am all about the coffee, a real coffee snob. 😉 I like tea as well, and drink as much coffee as I can. For the treat drinks, I get a coke zero, diet dr. pepper or a diet root bear. Yeah, I’m weird like that. 

6. What was the last local (unique to your area) restaurant at which you dined, and what did you have to eat?

Conway (AR) has a lot of neat restaurants, but the most recent one was Pitza 42 where I met a client/friend. Pitza 42 makes pizzas using pita bread and it is very healthy. They have some other options as well, and I got one of their wraps, also made with pita bread. Started by a young couple, they give money back to a mission organization that feeds kids in Africa. Their motto is “Eat good. Do good.” It is a great concept and has really become a hit in Conway. They hope to make expand to other cities, so, you might find one near you! 

Talk Thursday with Todd Jones

photo provided by Todd J.

Todd J. is the owner of grafixCat media, an online design and consulting company in Conway. Todd also runs the AR Scene, a website focusing on technology, entertainment and sports in the state of Arkansas.

Connect with Todd:

https://twitter.com/tejones

http://www.grafixcatmedia.com/

 

 

 

Related articles

What do you think?

