Mona Collins

Talk Thursday in the New Year

In Talk Thursday on January 2, 2014 at 10:24 PM

Talk Thursday in the New Year_Addicted to Fries blog

photos courtesy of Creative Commons licensed user Florian Maul and The Rail on Facebook.

Happy 2014! Hope your new year is starting off great. Did you eat black-eyed peas and cabbage yesterday? Or, maybe you had collard greens. Is that a Southern thing?

With the new year brings the opportunity for new things. This week the Talk Thursday series features Jessica S. I met Jessica almost two years ago when I started my current job. She has been a sweet coworker and awesome team member from the beginning. I drew inspiration from (and continue to be inspired by) her energy and love for exercise. We trained [insert air-quotes] together during Fall 2012. These days, I just wave to her as she exits the building for her daily run {Running and I don’t get along}. I admire Jessica’s knowledge and spirit. I may not tell her enough, but I always  appreciate her kind words, her challenges and the advice she gives to me. I’m happy to call her a friend and a peer mentor. Check out her answers below!

1. What is your favorite food dish, and why? 

Chili (Beef & White Chicken Chili) with honey cornbread, Fritos and rice is especially good during the cold winter months!

2. If you had to eat one cuisine for the rest of your life, which cuisine would you choose?

Fruit, Veggies & Chicken. Not sure that is a specific cuisine (No, but I’ll accept it).

3. What is the best health and fitness advice you can share with the Addicted to Fries readers? 

Consistency and Balance are key to living a healthy lifestyle. Fad diets and exercise never get you anywhere. The most important piece of advice I was given was be consistent with exercise, and balanced eating habits. I took up running and have loved getting involved with the community by doing local 5K’s and 10K’s; but I also get to challenge myself every once and a while to do a half marathon. This year was the first time I completed my first full marathon!

4. Currently, what is your favorite snack food?

Indiana White Cheddar Popcorn or Apples.

5. What type of beverage best describes your personality, and why?

Water with lime: I’m a pretty logical/down to earth gal, but have a passion for life that is infused throughout everything I do.

Talk Thursday in the New Year_Addicted to Fries

photos courtesy of Creative Commons users Greg Riegler and Muffet.

6. What was the last local (unique to your area) restaurant at which you dined, and what did you have to eat?

The Rail – a pizza company in historic downtown Rogers. I chose the Caesar salad (with homemade dressing) & Pepperoni/Cheese/Pineapple pizza.

Jessica Salmon works on the Front End Innovations team for Sam’s Club. She is married to Brian Salmon and has a golden doodle named Brodie. She resides in Rogers, AR. She loves to run, play basketball, spend time with her family and do anything active/outdoors.

You can find Jessica on Instagram: @jessicarsalmon.

  1. […] SEE ALSO: Talk Thursday in the New Year […]

What do you think?

