Mona Collins

Can You Have Too Much of a Good Thing?

In Health Thoughts on August 31, 2010 at 3:51 AM

Happiness with a smile

Too much of a good thing?!

The simple answer is YES. “Good Things” are all relative. What is good TO you may not be good FOR you. However, there are a few things that are good for you AND good to you. A friend of mine [that I met on Twitter and subsequently in real life] invited me to a potluck dinner last night. She is part of a natural health program through a local chiropractor. The gathering was very interesting and informative. Each person was responsible for a dish. As the crowd assembled I met new people and learned about their experience in the program which combines natural/healthy eating practices with burst exercise training. It was nice to see people talking about positive things and making positive changes in their lives.

Well, to be honest, it was refreshing and inspiring to be a part of the party. The dishes I chose to taste included:

  • Curry Chicken
  • Meatloaf
  • Broccoli Casserole with nuts on top
  • Black Bean Hummus with Celery Sticks
  • Chicken Salad
  • Garlic Green Beans
  • Chocolate Granola Item (not sure if it was a cookie, brownie or neither)
  • Chocolate Pudding-esque dessert

Each item was delicious (okay, the pudding was my least favorite). The Black Bean Hummus was the BEST; and I’m not really a hummus fan. Only after I finished eating did I learn that all the food prepared was gluten-free, dairy-free and sugar-free. WOW! I had no idea. Quite frankly, I didn’t miss what most people consider normal parts of everyday meals.

Attending this party got me thinking…what are we eating in our everyday lives? Processed food is everywhere. How many of your meals include processed items? How long could you live without gluten, dairy or added sugar? Share your thoughts in the comment section below.

I’m off to schedule my complimentary consultation with the chiropractor. I will post the results when I get them.

What do you think?

