Mona Collins

Five Minutes of Me – Volume 1, Issue 2

In Five Minutes on July 7, 2013 at 10:18 PM

Five Minutes of me on Sunday, July 7, 2013.

Today I spent five minutes freely writing about whatever came to my mind. Below are my thoughts. Enjoy. 

So, I purchased an electric grill today. I’ve been wanting one for some time. With this being the closing of the holiday weekend, the pressure became to much. I already cooked my first meal on the grill. I made chicken, pork chops, hot dogs and hamburgers. Yes, I made enough food to last a few days. My eyes were bigger than my stomach. As with each adventure, there are lessons to be learned. With more practice, I will master my little grill.

There so much going on in the world right now. There was a plane crash at San Francisco International airport yesterday. Asiana Airlines Flight 214 originated in China with a stop in Seoul, South Korea before preparing to land at the San Francisco airport. Miraculously, there were only two passengers who perished. There were many injured and all are accounted for. This had particular interest to me as I just returned from an international flight less than 2 weeks ago. Times and incidents like this that make you stop and take a close look at how God has kept you. I thank him for all he’s done for me…and what he holds for me in the future.

As I close, this song is resonating in my spirit: “God Specializes” — below is a video of the song being sung by Pastor E. Dewey Smith, Jr. of Great Travelers Rest Baptist Church in Decatur, GA.

 

What do you think?

